WAKEFIELD, Mass. – Head Coach Dick Umile of the University of New Hampshire men’s hockey team has been named one of nine finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the top NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. To be a finalist for this award, you must either be voted Coach of the Year in your conference or take your team to the NCAA Frozen Four. The announcement was made March 31 by the America Hockey Coaches Association.Umile is an eighth-time finalist for this award and won the Spencer Penrose Award in 1999.

Umile earns Hockey East Coach of the Year for a league-record sixth time, surpassing Boston University’s Jack Parker. Umile guided the Wildcats, who were picked fourth in the Hockey East Preseason Poll, to their eighth regular season championship including the third in the last four years. Umile guided the ‘Cats to the NCAA’s for the ninth-straight season and to the regional finals for the second-consecutive year. The Wildcats lead the Hockey East standings for an eye-popping 16 straight weeks, taking over the league lead Nov. 23, 2009 and never relinquishing that position. UNH went unbeaten at home in Hockey East play for the first time since the 1999-00 season and won the regular season series with six of nine league foes. Umile helped guide a team that lost 10 players, including Hockey East All Star and leading scorer James van Riemsdyk, from last year’s squad to its 22nd straight trip to the Hockey East playoffs and home-ice advantage in the quarterfinals for a league-best 14th-straight season. After going just 2-6-2 over its first 10 games, Umile’s Wildcats responded with a 10-1-2 mark over the next 13 games, including a 12-game unbeaten streak in Hockey East play. Umile’s run in the regular season was capped by a dramatic 3-3 come-from-behind deadlock with Boston College that clinched the league’s crown in front of the home fans on Senior Day at Whittemore Center.

The award is named in honor of the former Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA Hockey Championships. It will be announced after the Frozen Four and presented at the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Coach of Men’s Hockey Banquet on Saturday, May 1, in Naples, Fla.

2009-2010 AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey

Division One Coach of the Year Finalists

Enrico Blasi, Miami*#@

Mark Dennehy, Merrimack*

Mike Eaves, Wisconsin#

George Gwozdecky, Denver*@

Nate Leaman, Union*

C.J. Marottolo, Sacred Heart*

Tom Serratore, Bemidji State*

Dick Umile, New Hampshire*@

Wayne Wilson, RIT#

Jerry York, Boston College#

* Conference Coach of the Year           

# NCAA “Frozen Four” Participant

@ Previous Winner of the Spencer Penrose Award

CONTACT: Joe Bertagna (781-245-4177)


View: Mobile | Desktop