Men's Hockey Skates By North Dakota

DURHAM, NH -- The University of New Hampshire Wildcats (10-2-1, 5-0-1) scored the first three goals and skated to a 6-2 victory over second ranked North Dakota Fighting Sioux (9-2-1, 6-1-1), to capture the first-ever Diamond Aniversary Conference Classic held at UNH.

New Hampshire goaltender Ty Conklin, named tourney MVP, made 40 saves in goal, while Darren Haydar led the offense scoring twice and adding one assist.

New Hampshire opened up the scoring at 13:38 of the first period when Garrett Stafford scored his first collegiate goal. Staford took a pass from Jim Abbott and blasted a shot from the right point past North Dakota goalie Karl Goehring for the 1-0 lead. New Hapshire gained a two-goal edge when Darren Haydar scored his team-leading seventh goal. Lanny Gare found Haydar cutting across the middle. From there Haydar made a move on the North Dakota defenseman and went blocker side for the 2-0 lead.

The Wildcats took a 3-0 lead when Mike Souza scored a powerplay goal 3:21 into the second period. North Dakota came right back as Tim Skarperud scored eleven seconds later with an assist from Tim O'Connell to cut the lead to 3-1. New Hampshire regained the three goal lead when Jim Abbott scored with 8:50 left in the second period. Abbott faked a shot in the high slot then moved to the left circle and blasted a shot low on the ice for a 4-1 lead.

John Sadowski made the score 5-1, scoring ten minutes into the third period with an assist from Darren Haydar. North Dakota cut the lead to three when Lee Goren scored to make it 5-2. Darren Haydar scored his second goal of the night with seventeen seconds left to make it 6-2.


View: Mobile | Desktop