DURHAM, N.H. The 1999-2000 men's ice hockey New England Division I All-Star Team and Coach of the Year were announced Wednesday. Voting is done by the New England Hockey Writers Association Boston University head coach Jack Parker was named the 2000 All-New England Division I Coach of the Year after guiding the Terriers to the Hockey East regular season title and a 25th NCAA Tournament appearance. Named Hockey East Coach of the Year, Parker led BU to an Overall record of 25-10-7 (15-3-6 in HE) and improved his overall coaching mark to 616-295-58 in his 26th season at his alma mater.

Anchoring the New England Division I All-Star Team is a pair of spectacular goaltenders- in BU's Rick DiPietro (Winthrop, Mass) and University of New Hampshire's Ty Conklin (Anchorage, Alaska). DiPietro, the Hockey East Rookie of the Year and an All-Hockey East Second Team Selection, played in 30 games for the Terriers and finished the season with a 2.45 goals against average and a .913 save percentage. Conklin, a junior, makes his second straight appearance on the New England All-Star squad after posting a 22-8-6 record for the Wildcats this season. Playing in a league-high 37 games this year, Conklin posted a 2.49 GAA and a .908 save percentage. A Hobey Baker Memorial Award finalist, Conklin was also named to the All-Hockey East First Team.

Defensively, the New England All-Star Team boasts some of the best players in the entire nation. Leading the way for the blueliners is senior Hobey Baker Memorial Award finalist Mike Mottau (Avon. Mass.) of Boston College. Mottau has been the key to the Eagles success this season and has helped guide BC to its third straight NCAA Frozen Four. Playing in 40 games this season, Mottau has registered five goals and 37 assists for 42 points. This season, the All-Hockey East First Team selection became the all-time assist leader in Boston College history and has recorded 26-130-156 in his career.

Boston University placed two defenseman on the New England All-Star Team in sophomores Pat Aufiero (Winchester, Mass.) and Chris Dyment (Reading, Mass.). Aufiero played in 38 games for the Terriers this season and registered 3-20-23, Dyment played in all 42 games for BU and finished the season sixth on the team in scoring with 11-20-31 including six power-play goals and two game-winners. Rounding out the New England All-Star defensive unit is Maine sophomore Doug Janik (Agawam, Mass). Janik has helped guide the Black Bears to a second straight Frozen Four appearance and the 2000 Hockey East Tournament Championship. Playing in 35 games, Janik compiled 6-13-19 on the season.

There is no shortage of offensive firepower up front on this year's New England Div. I All-Star Team. Leading the way at forward are Boston College's Brian Gionta (Rochester, N.Y.) and Jeff Farkas (Williamsville, N.Y.). The pair, both Hobey Baker Memorial Award finalists and All-Hockey East First Team Selections, have provided the Eagles with a combined 108 points on the season Gionta, a junior, makes his second appearance on the All-New England squad after posting 32-21-53 and a team-high six game-winners in 40 games. Farkas, a junior played in 39 games and led the Eagles with 30-25-55, including a team-high 12 power-play goals and four game-winners.

Rounding out the top trio of forwards was Maine senior Cory Larose (Campbellton, New Brunswick). Larose, another All-Hockey East First Team honoree, earned the Hockey East scoring title with 9-24-33 in 24 league games and registered 15-36-51 overall. UNH's Mike Souza (Wakefield, Mass.) and Darren Haydar (Milton, Ontario) were also named to the New England All-Star Team. Both players were All-Hockey East Second Team selections and were the top two point-getters for the Wildcats this season. Haydar, a sophomore, finished the season as UNH's top scorer with 22-19-41, while Souza, a senior, finished second with 15-25-40. Rounding out the forwards is Providence senior Doug Shepard (Georgetown, Ontario). Shepard led Providence in scoring this season and finished the year with 18-26-44 in 38 games.

All of the honorees will be recognized at the New England Hockey Writers banquet to be held Tuesday, Apri1 11 at the Frince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass.


View: Mobile | Desktop