UNH Hockey holds annual team awards banquet

DURHAM, N.H. -- Senior co-captain Steve Saviano (Reading, Mass.) of the University of New Hampshire men's hockey team headlined the list of award winners at the annual team awards banquet held at the Whittemore Center on Saturday afternoon. Saviano garnered four awards on Saturday, including the Roger LeClerc Award (Most Valuable Player), the Guy Smith Award (Best Offensive Player), the Ted Karmeris Award (Fan Favorite) and the inaugural Ironman Award, given to the Wildcat athlete who excels in the weight room.

Saviano, who enjoyed his finest season as a Wildcat, recorded 27 goals and 22 assists for 49 points in 41 games in his senior campaign. He led the Wildcats' squad in points, goals, plus/minus (+15) and shots (140).

Saviano, the Hockey East Player of the Year in 2003-2004, was also named one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award and was also the only unanimous First-Team Hockey East All-Star, as selected by the league's nine coaches. He also received the Walter Brown Award, given annually to the top American-born college hockey player in New England and he was named the Most Outstanding Forward in New England.

Junior forwards Justin Aikins (Surrey, B.C.) and Preston Callander (Regina, Sask.), along with junior defenseman Tyson Teplitsky (Saskatoon, Sask.) were named tri-captains for the 2004-2005 season, as chosen by their teammates. It marks only the second time in the history of UNH hockey that the team will have tri-captains. The first time was in 1961-1962 (Ken McKinnon, Ed Mullen, Sam Nichols).

Callander was named the recipient of the Robert Kullen Award, given to the Unsung Hero of the 2003-2004 team. Callander posted a career-high 35 points in his junior campaign as the Wildcats' fourth leading scorer.

Senior forward Patrick Foley (Milton, Mass.) and senior goaltender Mike Ayers (Hingham, Mass.) were named co-recipients of the Charles Holt Coaches Award, given to a Wildcat who makes large contributions to the team on and off the ice. Foley, one of five finalists for the Hockey Humanitarian Award, posted seven points in his senior year and was the third three-time captain in the history of UNH hockey. Ayers posted 17 wins this season and became UNH's all-time career win leader with 58, breaking Ty Conklin's school record.

Senior defenseman Mick Mounsey (Concord, N.H.) earned the Rod Langway Award as the Wildcats' best defenseman. Mounsey recorded 11 points in his senior season in 39 games with a +7 plus/minus rating. Mounsey played in 157 games in his four years in Durham, one short of tying Darren Haydar's school record of 158.

Senior forward Nathan Martz (Chilliwack, B.C.) took home the Warren Brown Award, going to the best defensive forward on the Wildcats' roster. Martz played in 30 games this season and registered five goals and 21 assists for 26 points, including scoring a point in his first nine games of the season.

Sophomore forward Mark Kolanos (Calgary, Alb.) received the Most Improved Player Award. Kolanos posted four points this season, including his first collegiate goal on February 27th at Boston College.

Sophomore forward Eddie Caron (Hudson, N.H.) earned the Sid Knight Award for the second time in his UNH career. The award is given to the Wildcat with the highest grade point average this season.

Senior defenseman Thomas Pock of the University of Massachusetts was voted the recipient of the Terry Morton Award as the most worthy opponent.

View: Mobile | Desktop