Volleyball's Keding Named Team MVP at Annual Awards Banquet

DURHAM, N.H. – Senior Amy Keding (Northbrook, Ill.) of the University of New Hampshire volleyball team was named the Holly Young Most Valuable Player at the 2011 team awards banquet on the UNH campus on Saturday afternoon.

Keding, an America East All-Conference First Team selection, proved to be a consistent offensive force for the Wildcats throughout the season. The senior paced the lineup with 384 kills and ranked fifth in the league with 3.34 kills per set. Keding, who took home America East Player of the Week awards twice during the season, recorded 12 double-doubles this past fall. A standout in the classroom as well, Keding was named the volleyball recipient of the 2011 America East Scholar-Athlete award.

Freshman Sam Henke (Millersville, Md.) was the recipient of the Ed Jentes Coaches' Award. Henke put together an impressive rookie campaign, ranking first on the team and sixth in the conference with 3.29 digs per set. Henke, who paced the Wildcats with 359 total digs on the season, was named the America East Rookie of the Week on Oct. 17 for her outstanding defensive showing as the team's libero.

Senior Jessy Dick (Lethbridge, Alberta) was named the Judy Ray Academic Excellence Award winner for having the highest GPA on the team for the third straight season.

Cathy Leach, the Assistant Athletic Director for Academic Support, was awarded the Karl Van Asselt Assist Award. The annual award was presented to Leach for her outstanding support to the volleyball program.

Junior Jansan Falcusan (Plymouth, Mich.) was named the second-ever recipient of the Franklin Taylor Scholarship Award. In addition, Falcusan was named a team captain for the second-straight season. Fellow junior Jessie Schnepp (East Longmeadow, Mass.) and sophomore Morgan Thatcher (Brockton, Mass.) will also join Falcusan as tri-captains next season.

The Wildcats will open the 2012 season on August 24 at the Villanova Classic.

Amy Keding
Holly Young MVP

 Sam Henke
Ed Jentes
Coaches' Award

 Jessy Dick
Judy Ray Academic
Excellence Award
 Jansan Falcusan
Franklin Taylor
Scholarship Award
2012 Captain
 Jessie Schnepp
2012 Captain
 Morgan Thatcher
2012 Captain


View: Mobile | Desktop