Volleyball’s Heldman Named MVP at Annual Awards Banquet; Laquerre, Falcusan Tabbed as 2011 Captains

Sara Heldman
Holly Young MVP

Lauren Laquerre
Franklin Taylor
Scholarship Award
2011 Captain

Jansan Falcusan
2011 Captain
Destiny Tolliver
Ed Jentes
Coaches' Award

Jessy Dick
Judy Ray Academic
Excellence Award

DURHAM, N.H. – Senior Sara Heldman (Greenwood, Ind.) of the University of New Hampshire volleyball team was named the Holly Young Most Valuable Player at the 2010 team awards banquet on the UNH campus on Saturday night.

Heldman became the first America East student-athlete to earn both Setter of the Year and Defensive Specialist of the Year. In 2010, Heldman recorded 9.11 assists per set in addition to 2.76 digs per set. The senior served up 16 aces and recorded 26 blocks on the year. Heldman finished her final year at New Hampshire with a team-leading 13 double-doubles. She was named the Setter of the Week three times this season. Heldman ended her tenure in Durham with 104 sets and finished with 287 digs. She became the first player in program history to win Setter of the Year and is a two-time All-America East honoree. Heldman is just the second player in UNH history to record 1,000 digs and 1, 000 assists.
Freshman Destiny Tolliver (Rochester, Mich.) was the recipient of the Ed Jentes Coaches' Award. Tolliver made an immediate impact for the Wildcats as a freshman, ranking seventh in the America East in blocks (65). Tolliver finished her first year among the team leaders in several catagories with 125 kills, 91 digs and 182 points. Tolliver, a 2010 America East All-Rookie Team selection, was named America East Rookie of the Week on back-to-back weeks on Sept. 27 & Oct. 4.

Sophomore Jessy Dick (Lethbridge, Alberta) was named the Judy Ray Academic Excellence Award winner for boasting the team's highest GPA for the second-straight season.

A special award was handed out to an individual for his support of the volleyball program. Super fan Franklin Taylor was awarded the Karl Van Asselt Assist Award for his outstanding support of the volleyball team.

For the first time in program history, the team handed out the Franklin Taylor Scholarship Award to junior Lauren Laquerre (Concord, N.H.). In addition, Laquerre was tabbed as a captain for the 2011 season. Joining Laquerre as captain is sophomore setter Jansan Falcusan (Plymouth, Mich.).

The 2011 UNH volleyball team opens the season Aug. 26 at the West Virginia Mountaineer Invitational. The Wildcats will play the host Mountaineers at 1 p.m.

View: Mobile | Desktop