CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- The America East recently named 27 student-athletes to the 2008 Swimming and Diving All-Academic Team based on their athletic and their academic achievements in the 2007-08 season.

University of New Hampshire’s Kary Goodman (Windham, Maine), the female senior honored at the conference championship for accumulating the most points in her four-year career, was selected as a member of the academic squad. Other Wildcats honored were Evelyn Yuen (Princeton, N.J.), Deanna Petchonka (Ridgefield, Conn.), Christine Tartaglia (Brewster, N.Y.).

In addition to their excellent performance in the classroom, Petchonka and Tartaglia have been just as stellar in the pool. On March 3, at the ECAC Championships, Petchonka earned fifth place in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 52.91. She also placed fifth in the 100-yard butterfly, touching in at 57.69.

In the same meet Christine Tartaglia defeated all swimmers during the first two turns of the 200-yard breaststroke, but fell behind to finish in a time of 2:27.33, taking third place. She also earned fifth place in the 100 breast with a time of 1:07.61, just seven hundredths of a second behind the fourth-place finisher.

At the America East Championships earlier last month Tartaglia, Goodman and Petchonka were all part of a record-setting swim for the Wildcats as they placed third in the contest.

Petchonka finished first in the 100-yard butterfly preliminaries and earned third in the finals with a time of 57.83, while Goodman placed second (57.03) in that event. Petchonka garnered a second place time in the 50-yard freestyle, with a time of 24.03. Petchonka’s fifth place finish in the 100-free was her career best, touching in at 52.79.

As for the rest of the those named to the All-Academic Team, the 2008 outstanding male diver, Boston University's Andre Watson, swimmer, Binghamton's Brandan Varanda, as well as the outstanding female diver, Boston University's Tess Waresmith, were also honored by the conference.

Joining Waresmith and Goodman on the women's team is Boston University's Emily Munday, Christina Ruggiero, Brigette, UMBC's Tereza Kaplanova, Lindsay Sherman, Daniele Surkovich, Tina Cantwell, Carly Fitzpatrick, and Vermont's Molly MacMillan.

Recognized on the men's team alongside Watson and Varanda was Binghamton's Sean Lorenz, Brian Koralewski, Boston University's Eric Carlson, UMBC's Rasmus Kutt, Zach Vonder Haar, PJ Sterba, Scott Auchter, Milos Djukic, Matt Mattingly, Stony Brook's Omer Ozcan and Alexander Kissel.

The 2008 America East Champion men's and women's UMBC teams led all member schools, sending a combined 11 student-athletes to the all-academic team.

Each All-Academic Team has been selected based on the student-athlete’s academic and athletic accomplishments. Academic achievement for consideration requires student-athletes to have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 entering the season.

Athletic accomplishment standards vary between team sports and individual sports. For swimming & diving, student-athletes are required to be a top-three finisher at the conference championship meet. Team size for individual sports is determined by the number of all-conference honorees who possess the minimum academic requirement. Freshmen are not eligible for the All-Academic Team. Below is the complete list of the Women’s All-Academic Team.

Women's All-Academic Team
Name, School, GPA
Emily Munday, Boston U, 3.43
Tess Waresmith, Boston U., 3.33
Christina Ruggiero, Boston U., 3.30
Brigette O'Shaughnessy, Boston U., 3.25
Tereza Kaplanova, UMBC, 4.0
Lindsay Sherman, UMBC, 3.6
Daniele Surkovich, UMBC, 3.49
Tina Cantwell, UMBC, 3.43
Carly Fitzpatrick, UMBC, 3.31
Evelyn Yuen, New Hampshire, 3.92
Deanna Petchonka, New Hampshire, 3.55
Christine Tartaglia, New Hampshire, 3.48
Kary Goodman, New Hampshire, 3.28

Molly MacMillan, Vermont,
View: Mobile | Desktop