DURHAM, N.H.- The University of New Hampshire women’s swimming and diving team recently held their annual awards banquet at the Sheraton Inn in Portsmouth, N.H. The evening highlighted the accomplishments of the 2007-2008 season.
Amy Perrault and Coach Joshua Willman

Individuals recognized for exceptional seasons included Amy Perrault (Kirkland Lake, Ontario) who was selected as Rookie of the Year. Perrault recently returned from the Canadian Olympic Trials and had a very successful campaign at the America East Championships where she was selected as Rookie of the Meet for her impressive swims including a win in the 100-yard backstroke and record setting leadoff swim in the 200 medley relay.

The Most Valuable Swimmer Award went to Deanna Petchonka (Ridgefield, Conn.).  Petchonka, an America East All-Conference swimmer, was runner up in the 50 freestyle and placed third in the 100 butterfly at America East Championship’s where she performed best times and was instrumental in four of the Wildcat relays. She was also part of the ECAC title winning 400 medley relay and anchored the 50 and 100 freestyles and 100 butterfly at the ECAC Championships in Pittsburgh, Pa. last month.

The team’s Most Improved Award went to junior Laura Fay (Eugene, Ore.). Fay had an outstanding season and was a top performer for the Wildcat’s dropping time and achieved personal bests in all three of her best events, the 200 individual medley, 400 individual medley and 200 butterfly.
Seniors Deanna Petchonka, Christine Tartaglia
and Shana Dege

The Richard J. Hegerich Golden Goggle Award or Seventh Player Award was awarded to senior Christine Tartaglia  (Brewster, N.Y.). The memorial award is named for former UNH Swimmer Rich Hegerich, who was killed by a drunk driver in 2004. It was presented by Richard Hegerich Sr. recognizing Christine’s leadership, character, team spirit and love of the sport that Rich so vibrantly demonstrated.

The Coaches Award recognizes the upperclassman that exemplifies the best of UNH Swimming. It reflects upon the characteristics of leadership, ability to be a role model, commitment to the team and overall contribution to the team both philosophically and athletically. Sophomore standout Mattie Fowler (Farmington, Maine) received the award. Fowler was the 2008 America East Champion in the 400 individual medley and runner up in the 200 butterfly.
View: Mobile | Desktop