New Hampshire women's soccer names captains, honors players

DURHAM, N.H. - The University of New Hampshire women's soccer team feted four players and announced the captains for the 2001 season at its annual banquet, which was held last month.

Meg Foley (Marlborough, Conn.) and Farrell Swain (West Simsbury, Conn.) were announced as co-captains for the upcoming fall season and will be two of six seniors on the squad. Swain led the 2000 team in goals and points and her season highlights included the game-winning goal in a 1-0 victory against Drexel University. Foley also started all 18 matches and was a leader in the backfield.

The Student-Athlete Award, which is presented to the team member who earns the highest grade-point-average during the traditional season of competition, was awarded to senior Marky Solomon (Foster, R.I.). Solomon, who was sidelined the entire season due to a knee injury, also won the award in 1999 and 1998.

The Player's Award, which recognizes the team member who the players select as deserving of special honor, had co-recipients for the first time as Solomon and fellow senior Jenn Martin (Thompson, Conn.) were presented the award. Martin, two years removed from ACL surgery, played in 15 matches and was in the starting lineup twiceHer season highlights included an assist in UNH's 4-1 victory at Army.

The Honor Award, in recognition of the player who the coaching staff finds to have made significant contributions to the team, was presented to senior Andrea Encarnacao (Wakefield, Mass.). Encarnacao, who served with Solomon as captain of the 2000 Wildcat team, was the solidifying force of the defensive unit.

In addition to Encarnacao, Martin and Solomon, the New Hampshire women's soccer program bid farewell to seniors Sue Abbene (Oyster Bay, N.Y.), Jess Halas (Danbury, Conn.), Melissa Hanke (Manchester, N.H.) and Steph Springer (Solana Beach, Calif.).

View: Mobile | Desktop