WAKEFIELD, Mass. – The Women’s Hockey East Association announced the selection of 12 student-athletes from the regular-season and tournament champion University of New Hampshire team to the 2007-08 All-Academic Team on Thursday; a total of 81 student-athletes were honored by the league.

Senior defensemen Martine Garland (Toronto, Ontario) and Diana Saly (Edina, Minn.) were named to the All-Academic Team for the fourth time to receive the title of Distinguished Scholars (minimum 3.0 grade-point-average every semester in all four years). Saly has been selected to the league’s All-Academic Team each of the past four years, whereas Garland was feted in 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2008.

Senior forward Leah Craig (Seaforth, Ontario) and classmate Nicole Goguen (Truro, Nova Scotia), a defenseman, received this distinction for the third consecutive year, as did junior defenseman Maggie Joyce (Hudson, Ohio). Sophomore forward Steph Holmes (Rye, N.Y.) is a repeat selection from last year.

UNH’s first-time All-Academic Team honorees are senior forward Sadie Wright-Ward (Durham, N.H.), sophomore forward Shannon Sisk (Pipersville, Pa.), freshman goaltender Kayley Herman (Weyburn, Saskatchewan), freshman defenseman Julia Marty (Nussbaumen, Switzerland) and freshmen forwards Stefanie Marty (Nussbaumen, Switzerland) and Jenn Wakefield (Pickering, Ontario).

Student-athletes must attain a minimum grade-point-average of 3.0 in each semester of the academic year to qualify for the Hockey East All-Academic Team.

UNH won its fifth consecutive Hockey East regular-season title and third straight tournament crown en route to an NCAA Frozen Four appearance and an overall record of 33-4-1 in the 2008 season.
View: Mobile | Desktop