COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO.  – Martine Garland (Toronto, Ontario), a junior defenseman and captain on the fourth-ranked University of New Hampshire women’s ice hockey team, was named a top 10 finalist for the 2007 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Memorial Award by The USA Hockey Foundation on Monday.
    An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award recognizes the accomplishments of the most outstanding player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey each season. Other selection criteria include outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.
    Garland, a 2006 RBK Hockey All-America First Team selection, has 29 points on six goals and 23 assists in 31 games this season to tie for the team lead in assists and tie for third in points. Those numbers rank No. 10 in the nation in defenseman scoring (0.94 ppg) and No. 18 in assists (0.74 apg).
    "Martine has developed into one of the premier defensemen in Division I women's college hockey,” fifth-year UNH head coach Brian McCloskey said. “More importantly, she's provided our program at UNH with outstanding leadership on the ice and in the classroom.  Martine has worked incredibly hard to improve her game while at UNH and we're thrilled at her being recognized as one of the outstanding players in the nation.”
    Garland’s season highlights include an eight-game point-scoring streak (3g, 10a) and a six-game assist streak (1g, 8a). She recorded career highs in both goals (two) and points (four) at then-No. 3 Minnesota and matched her personal best of three assists earlier this month vs. Providence.
    Garland is UNH’s seventh top 10 finalist in the 10-year history of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. Brandy Fisher was the inaugural recipient in 1998 and other top 10 finalists were Nicki Luongo (1999), Carisa Zaban (1999, 2000), Michelle Thornton (2001), Kira Misikowetz (2002) and Nicole Hekle (2006).
    The three finalists for this year’s award will be announced March 5 and the award will be presented March 17 in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four in Lake Placid, N.Y.

2007 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Top 10 Finalists

Name                               Year    Pos    School
Meghan Agosta                 Fr        F      Mercyhurst College
Gillian Apps                       Sr        F      Dartmouth College
Sara Bauer                        Sr        F      University of Wisconsin
Tessa Bonhomme            Jr        D     The Ohio State University
Julie Chu                           Sr        F      Harvard University
Martine Garland              Jr        D      University of New Hampshire
Sabrina Harbec                Jr        F       St. Lawrence University
Noemie Marin                  Sr        F       University of Minnesota Duluth
Meaghan Mikkelson       Sr        D      University of Wisconsin
Sarah Vaillancourt          So       F       Harvard University
View: Mobile | Desktop