DURHAM, N.H. – University of New Hampshire junior co-captain Jordan Horowitz (Evanston, Ill.) posted a fifth place effort at 25 minutes, 31 seconds on UNH’s College Woods in the season opener, but the Friars of Providence College captured the team victory defeating UNH by a margin of 41-16 on Saturday.
    Providence was led by a foursome of runners as they all crossed the line within a second of each other. PC harrier Max Smith and Nick Weidman (24:55) finished first and second respectively. The Wildcats rounded out the last three spots in the top ten as Andrew Van Hoogenstyn (Scarborough, Maine) crossed the finish in seventh. Andrew Lawson (Holland-Patent, N.Y.) and Ben Jenkins (Francestown, N.H.) sprinted to the finish to claim places nine and 10.   
    The Wildcats will be back in action on Sept. 15 when they compete in the America East Pre-Meet held at the University of Maine. The men’s race will start at 4:15 p.m.
1. Max Smith                       PC                          24:55
2. Nick Weidman                 PC                            24:55
3. Richie Yeates                  PC                            24:56
4. Ammed Haji                    PC                            24:56.8
5. Jordan Horwitz                 UNH                         25:31
6. Tony Webb                      PC                           25:49
7. Andy Van Hoogenstyn     UNH                          25:51
8. Andrew Lawson               UNH                         26:07
9. Ben Jenkins                     UNH                       26:13
10. Mah-Kinback                  PC                          26:15
11. Doug Coffea                   PC                           6:17
12. David Nayes                   UNH                       26:24
14. Mark Paige                      UNH                       26:24
15. Ben Danton                     UNH                       26:37
16. Wes Dinnan                    UNH                       26:54
17. Chris McDermott             PC                          27:13
18. Ro Crispin                       UNH                       27:29
19. Mike Blomclard                PC                          27:35
20. Rob Zolla                         UNH                       27:44
21. Matt O’Connor               UNH                          27:44
22. Theo Shaean                   PC                           27:47
23. Nick Jenkins                    UNH                       27:50
24. Jesse Kearns                   UNH                       27:53
25. Nate Bassett                   UNH                       28:05
26. Marc Ouellette                UNH                        28:23
View: Mobile | Desktop