Twenty-Five Student-Athletes Named to Hockey East All-Academic Teams

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – A total of 25 University of New Hampshire student-athletes – 13 men and 12 women – were named to the 2013-14 Hockey East All Academic Teams that were announced Friday.

A total of 93 student-athletes were named to the women's All-Academic Team and a record number of 109 made the men's All-Academic Team. Each student-athlete achieved a grade point average of 3.0 or higher each of the two semesters in the 2013-14 academic year.

The Wildcats' 12 representatives on the 2013-14 Women's Hockey East All-Academic Team tied with Boston College, Northeastern University and Providence College for the second-highest total. Maine had a league-high 20 student-athletes on the squad. The aforementioned quartet was followed by University of Connecticut and University of Vermont with nine apiece, and Boston University had seven players recognized.

Senior forward Arielle O'Neill (St. Catharines, Ontario) and junior forward Hannah Armstrong (Keswick, Ontario), who redshirted the 2011-12 season, were both honored as a Distinguished Scholar for recording a 3.0 GPA every semester all four seasons.

Juniors Kayla Mork (Victoria, Minn.) and Jess Ryan (Cloquet, Minn.) were feted for the third time in as many years. Senior Jessica Hitchcock (LaSalle, Ontario) made the grade again to give her two All-Academic Team honors, which matched the number of years she was in Hockey East.

Five sophomores – Megan Armstrong (Edina, Minn.), Sarah Carlson (Hutchinson, Minn.), Marie-Eve Jean (Gatineau, Quebec), Heather Kashman (Edmonton, Alberta) and Vilma Vaattovaara (Veikkola, Finland) – were named to the All-Academic Team for a second time.

Senior forward and captain Nicole Gifford (Ennismore, Ontario) is a first-time honoree on the All-Academic Team. Freshman defenseman Kate Haslett (Rothesay, New Brunswick) completes the list of 12 honored Wildcats.

New Hampshire had a total of 13 representatives named to the Hockey East All-Academic Team, giving them the fourth most of league members. Merrimack College led the way with 19 skaters while UMass Lowell and Maine both placed 16 on the team.

Trevor van Riemsdyk (Middletown, N.J.) was further recognized to the Hockey East Academic All-Star Team, which recognizes those with the top GPA by position. He achieved a mark of 3.96 and is a three-time All-Academic Team honoree.

Also earning the distinction for the third time is Jay Camper (Rocky River, Ohio), Ryan Randall (Durham, N.H.) and Jeff Silengo (Madison, Conn.).

Maxim Gaudreault (Annapolis, Md.), Eric Knodel (West Chester, Pa.), Collin MacDonald (West Milford, N.J.), Harry Quast (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), Jamie Regan (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), Kyle Smith (Lumberton, N.J.) and Casey Thrush (Easton, Md.) all made the grade for the second time in their careers.

The first time honorees from UNH are Matias Cleland (Longmont, Colo.) and Casey DeSmith (Rochester, N.H.) to round out the 13 Wildcats. 

View: Mobile | Desktop