Hobey Voting | ButlerforHobey.com | ButlerforHobey Facebook
ST. PAUL, Minn. –
UNH men's hockey player Bobby Butler (Marlboro, Mass.) is currently in the top 10 in fan voting for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award. Fans have until March 7 to vote for Butler as well as his teammates Blake Kessel (Verona, Wis.) and Brian Foster (Pembroke, N.H.).

Fans are also encouraged to view ButlerforHobey.com a sleek interactive site, designed by Pack Network, which is geared to raise awareness and support for Butler's candidacy for college hockey’s greatest individual honor, the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, given each year to college hockey's top player.

Awarded annually to college hockey’s top player, the Hobey will be awarded for the 30th time this year during the Frozen Four in Detroit, Mich. The first phase of the Hobey Baker highly popular fan-voting phase concludes March 7, 2010. As of February 23, more than 105,000 votes have been cast and here are the top ten leaders in the fan balloting:

Player                                     Class,  Pos. School          Votes
Mario Valery-Trabucco               SR,     Fwd  Union           9008
Dan Ringwald                           SR,     Def   RIT              7702
Jeff Petry                                 JR,      Def   Mich. State   7539
Chris Kushneriuk                      JR,      Fwd  Robt. Morris  6560
Tomas Petruska                        SR,     Fwd  Bowling Grn  6348
Bobby Butler                          SR,     Fwd  New Hamp.   6303
Blair Riley                                SR,     Fwd  Ferris State   6287
Chase Polacek                          JR,      Fwd  RPI              5797
Blake Geoffrion                        SR,      Fwd  Wisconsin     5458
Eric Lampe                               SR,     Fwd  Quinnipiac    4926

This first phase of fan balloting, along with ballots submitted by all 58 Division I college hockey coaches will determine the Top Ten finalists for the 2010 Hobey Baker Award. Phase two of fan balloting will begin on March 19 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists. The fans’ vote accounts for a full 1 percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient.

Visit the Hobey Baker website: hobeybaker.com. Click on the Vote for Hobey Baker icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year’s outstanding crop of college hockey players.

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2010 include:

Top Ten list of candidates: March 18
Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists: March 31
Hobey Baker Award winner: April 9

The 2010 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 9, 2010 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Detroit, Mich. The 30th annual award announcement honoring college hockey’s top player will be televised live during prime time on ESPNU at 7:00 pm ET. For more info on the Hobey Baker Award or to access the Hobey logo, please visit hobeybaker.com.

View: Mobile | Desktop