Ty Conklin
Jason Krog
Darren Haydar
Mark Mowers
Mike Radja
Steve Saviano
Jayme Filipowicz
Garrett Stafford

DURHAM, N.H. -- During Friday night's University of New Hampshire men's hockey game against Vermont, the results of the recent fan balloting for 25th anniversary team were announced. In all, eight Wildcats from the past 25 years were honors as UNH's part of the 25 years of Hockey East.

Fan balloting took place during the entire month of January at and the results were unveiled during the first intermission on Friday, Jan. 30. Ty Conklin (Anchorage, Alaska) was the fan's vote for top goalie, while Jason Krog (Fergie, B.C.), Darren Haydar (Milton, Ontario), Mark Mowers (Whitesboro, N.Y.) and Mike Radja (Yorkville, Ill.) were voted the top forwards. Steve Saviano (Reading, Mass.) was named the 'fan favorite', while Jayme Filipowicz (Arlington Heights, Ill.) and Garrett Stafford (Los Angeles, Calif.) were tabbed the top defensemen.

Conklin (1998-01), a 2000 and 2001 Hobey Baker finalist and a two time All American, left UNH with eight goaltending records and continues to enjoy a successful NHL career currently with the Detriot Red Wings.

Krog (1995-99), UNH's only Hobey Baker Award winner (1999), finished his Wildcat career second on the all-time scoring list (238 points) and was the all-time leader in assists (144). Krog currently plays for the Manitoba Moose of the AHL and spent time this season with the Vancouver Canucks.

Haydar (1998-02), a Hobey Hat Trick finalist in 2002, finished his UNH career second all-time in goals (102) and third in both points and assists. Haydar is currently playing for the Grand Rapid Griffins of the AHL and spent time in his professional career with three different NHL teams.

Mowers (1994-98), a 1998 Hobey Baker finalist, was named a first team All-American in 1998 beciming the first to earn the honor under head coach Dick Umile. Mowers has played for four different NHL teams including the Boston Bruins and is currently playing for Fribourg-Gotteron of the Swiss (NL).

Radja (2004-08), a 2008 All-American and the most recently alum to be honored, finished his career with 117 points including 54 goals. Currently playing for the Rockford Ice Hogs of the AHL.

Saviano (2000-04), a 2004 Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalist, was a first-team All-American in 2004 and finished with 117 points. Saviano is currently playing for Tappara Tampere in Finland.

Filipowicz (1996-99), a 1999 All-American, was named to the 1999 NCAA Championship All-Tournament team and was also named to the Hockey East All-Tournament and All-Conference teams in 1999.

Stafford (1999-03), the Wildcats only two-time Hockey East All-Tournament selection (2002, 2003), was a second team Hockey East All-Conference selection in 2002. Stafford is currently playing in with Haydar on the Grand Rapids Griffins and spent some time last season with the Detriot Red Wings.

View: Mobile | Desktop