Blagoj Janev Named Team’s MVP

Blagoj Janev

Janev, who was just one of two juniors in America East to be named first-team All-Conference this season, led the Wildcats in both scoring and rebounding with averages of 14.4 ppg. and 4.5 rpg. An outstanding three-point shooter for a big man, Janev connected on 50-146 treys during the season for a shooting percentage of .397. He was also among the nation's top free throw shooters for much of the campaign with an impressive shooting percentage of .868 (99-114). Janev scored in double digits 24 times this past season and scored over 20 points six times.

Senior guard Ioannis Karalis (Athens Greece) is one of just two graduating seniors and he was the recipient of the first-ever Gerry Friel Award, which is named after the former UNH head men's basketball coach, who mentored the Wildcats from 1968 until1989. The award is given to the player who best represents UNH men's basketball and who works hard on the court, performs well in the classroom and provides community service to the local area, all characteristics that Coach Friel strived for with his players.

Junior guard Jermaine Anderson (Beverly, Mass.) was named this year's Defensive Player of the Year. Anderson was third on the team in scoring with 8.0 points per game and led New Hampshire in steals with 35 while pulling down 3.5 rebounds per game. He often was given the task of covering some of the best guards in the conference and even the nation.

Junior forward Jamaal Caterina (Portland, Maine) earned Most Improved Player honors. A transfer from American University, Caterina started 24 games and finished the season with an average of 6.3 ppg. and a team-leading .469 field goal percentage. Caterina was also second in rebounding with 4.4 boards per contest and led the Wildcats in blocks with 15.

Senior guard Georges Djanabia (Milwaukee, Wis.) was the recipient of the Wildcat Award, which he earned as one of the team's most spirited players. Djanabia was always vocal, whether he was cheering his team from the bench or out on the floor. The Rookie of the Year award was given to freshman guard Tyrece Gibbs (Brockton, Mass.), who worked hard to improve early and eventually took over as a starter in 18 games, while competing in all 28 contests. He averaged 6.8 ppg. for the 'Cats, while also grabbing 3.2 rpg.

View: Mobile | Desktop