DURHAM, N.H.—The University of New Hampshire women's gymnastics team held its annual awards banquet this past weekend and honored several student-athletes for their outstanding efforts in 2010.

Junior Chelsea Steinberg (Ridgewood, N.J.) was named as the team MVP. She has gone from producing 352 points her freshman year, to 174 her sophomore year due to an injury, and bumped up to the team's highest point total this year with 483.975 points. She holds season-highs of 9.85 in vault, 9.75, bars, 9.875 beam, 9.9 floor and 39.35 in the all around. All either match or top her career highs. She hit 12 of 13 vaults, 11 of 13 bar routines, 12 of 13 beam routines, and 10 of 11 floor sets. On beam, she posted five first- place finishes, five second-places, and one third-place finish. Steinberg was named to the EAGL all-tournament team with a second-place on beam and finished 10th at the NCAA regional meet. In the all-around she finished first five times, and hit above a 39.0 at three different meets.  She was named an alternate for the NCAA Nationals in the all-around with a fourth-place finish behind two Penn State gymnasts and one LSU gymnast at regionals. Her total points as just a junior already make her a member of the UNH Gymnastics 1,000 point club with a total of 1,010.7 points.
Two gymnasts, senior Helena Diodati (Scarborough, Maine) and junior Katie Lawrence (Lyme, Conn.) received the Most Spirited or Inspirational Award, which is given to an individual who contributes the most to the team, both on and off the floor.
The Katie Baldwin Academic Achievement Award was presented to freshman Courtney Connors(Buffalo, N.Y.), who recorded at 3.91 GPA as a Business major.
Freshman Tasia Percevecz (Fountain Hills, Ariz.) earned The Most Improved Award after an outstanding freshman campaign that saw her record a season-high of 9.775 in the floor exercise.
Senior Taryn LaFountain (Utica, N.Y.) was presented with The GATOS Award, which is given to the gymnast who steps it up for the team and continues to help the program work toward its potential. The award is also based on dedication to the conditioning program.
In addition, Lawrence and Steinberg were named co-captains for the 2010-2011 season.
View: Mobile | Desktop