Wildcats Hall and Stank named Urquhart Student-Athletes of the Year

DURHAM, N.H. - Senior defensive lineman Derek Stank (Etters, Pa.) of the University of New Hampshire football team and senior Amanda Hall (Bremerton, Wash.) of the UNH gymnastics program were named the 2006 Jim Urquhart Student-Athletes of the Year on Sunday night at the third annual senior awards banquet at HollowayCommons on the UNH campus.

The award is named in memory of longtime UNH coach Jim Urquhart, who coached the New Hampshire men's lacrosse team for 17 years and the wrestling team for 11 seasons before taking the position as Associate Athletic Director of Event Management in 1997. He passed away after suffering a heart attack on Jan 14, 1998.

The Jim Urquhart Student-Athlete of the Year Award began in 1999. The award is bestowed annually upon UNH senior student-athletes who excel both in athletic competition and the classroom, as well as possessing great character, sportsmanship and a passion for sports.

Stank captained the 2006 team and helped guide the team to a 11-2 overall record and a 7-1 record to capture the Atlantic 10 title. The 11 wins are the most in the program's history and the Wildcats finished the regular-season at the No. 1 ranked team in the country. The Wildcats appeared the NCAA playoffs for the second consecutive season and advanced to the quarterfinals two seasons in a row. Stank often found himself double-teamed but still led the interior linemen with 25-19-34 tackles and he led the team in sacks with 5.5 for 29 yards. He was a Second Team All-Atlantic-10 selection and was named a First Team All-New England honoree. Stank is a Kinesiology: Physical Education Pedagogy major with a 3.09 cumulative GPA. Stank was also a two-time member of the Atlantic 10 All-Academic Team.

Hall recently finished off a strong four-year career as the captain of the gymnastics team leading the team to a fourth place finish in the NCAA regionals at Ann Arbor, Mich. She qualified for the NCAA National Championship in the all-around competition, marking only the seventh UNH gymnast all-time to compete at the NCAA championship. She was a four-year EAGL All-Conference selection in all events, a four-year EAGL All-Academic selection and EAGL Gymnast of the Year as a junior in 2005. Hall was regionally ranked No. 1 in the vault, second in the floor exercise and fourth in the all-around. Hall owns a 3.45 GPA as a Psychology major and is planning to become a pediatric doctor.

Other male nominees were: Joe Dunn (Alpine Skiing), Ioannis Karalis (basketball) and Andrew Leach (hockey).

Other female nominees were: Lindsay Adams (basketball), Shannon Daly (swimming), Katie Leland (lacrosse), Sydney Mikklelson (alpine skiing), Deb Newman (soccer), Kaitlyn Skelley (field hockey) and Erin Walker (volleyball).

Here is a list of the Jim Urquhart Student-Athlete of the Year recipients:

1999 - Jerry Azumah (football), Jason Krog (men's ice hockey), Melanie Morin (women's cross country, track)

2000 - Orsi Farkas (women's basketball), Kyle Schneck (men's cross country, track), Mike Souza (men's ice hockey)

2001 - Colleen Christopher (women's lacrosse), Ty Conklin (men's ice hockey), Ryan DiNunzio (men's soccer), Andrea Encarnacao (women's soccer)

2002 - Amy DeCamp (women's cross country, track), Darren Haydar (men's ice hockey)

2003 - Greg Blaisdell (men's skiing), Marcie Boyer (field hockey)

2004 - Lesley Read (women's track/women's cross country), Steve Saviano (men's ice hockey)

2005 - Chiara Best (women's soccer), Ben Sturgill (men's basketball)

2006- Amanda Hall (Gymnastics) and Derek Stank (football)

View: Mobile | Desktop