Field Hockey Awards Student-Athletes at Annual Team Banquet

DURHAM, N.H. – The University of New Hampshire Wildcats field hockey program held its annual team banquet to celebrate the accomplishments of the 2012 team and student-athletes. The event was held last Saturday, Feb. 20 to hand out the awards as well as honor the senior class.

UNH (12-8, 5-0 America East) won the America East regular season on the way to another America East Championship game appearance hosted here at UNH. The 'Cats came up a bit short, losing to Albany by a score of 3-1, and ended the year ranked No. 20 in the nation.

Megan Bozek (Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.) was the recipient of the Joyce V. Hiller Award – which is awarded to the player who is always there with a helping hand and gives selflessly to the program – for the second consecutive year. She was an integral part to both the offensive and defensive corner units recording 10 goals and 4 four assists for 24 points, good for to rank second on the team in both goals and points.

Bozek, a junior back who, is no stranger to receiving awards, was named to field hockey's All-America Third Team back in November and she earned a gold medal with the U.S. Women's National Indoor Field Hockey Team in Austria.

The Donna Lynne '74 Scholarship Award, which goes to an athlete that makes a substantial contribution to the team through athletic and leadership abilities, was awarded to Casey Pohlmeyer (Millersville, Md.). She finished the season with five goals and team-high nine assists for 19 points.

Pohlmeyer, a junior midfielder, was also selected to the NFHCA All-Region Second Team in November. She was feted with the team's Susan Kilmister Memorial Award a year ago.

Hannah Richard (Hopkinton, N.H.) was named the recipient of the Barbara Bridle Peyser Award chosen by the coaching staff. It goes to the player that embodies a competitive spirit and through their improved play has made a significant contribution to the team's success.

Richard, a junior forward, played in all 20 games leading the team in both goals and points with 14 and 32 respectively. She was also the recipient of the America East Player of the Week twice this season.

The Barbara Bridle Award is a new addition this year. It is in honor of Barbara Peyser, class of 1950, who passed away this past June. This award has been made possible through the generosity of her good friend Jack Smith in Barbara's name.

The Marisa Didio Award, given to the student-athlete who gives herself more freely and goes the extra mile, was awarded to sophomore midfielder Kellie Joyce (South Pomfret, Vt.). She was instrumental to the team's success this season scoring three game-winning goals.
Joyce finished the season scoring 17 points on five goals and seven assists, playing in all 20 games.

Maegan Grew (Hampton Falls, N.H.) was named recipient of the Susan Kilmister Award, which is awarded to the team's "unsung hero" who reflects Sue's dedication, accomplishments and sportsmanship as a student-athlete. The sophomore back did not record a point on the season but played in all 20 games for the 'Cats and contributed heavily to the team's defense that allowed just six goals in five conference games to rank second in America East in goals against average.

The senior class consisted of Mary Quill (Greenland, N.H.), Claire Grogan (Canton, Mass.) and Emma Erler (New Hampton, N.H.). This group of seniors helped the 'Cats to one America East championship title and three consecutive America East regular season titles.

2012 UNH Field Hockey Team Banquet Awards
Joyce V. Hiller Award – Megan Bozek
Donna Lynne '74 Scholarship Award – Casey Pohlmeyer
Barbara Bridle Peyser Award – Hannah Richard
The Didio Award – Kellie Joyce
Susan Kilmister Award – Maegan Grew

View: Mobile | Desktop