Field Hockey Doles Out Awards at Annual Team Banquet

DURHAM, N.H. – The University of New Hampshire field hockey team held its annual team banquet Feb. 19 to commemorate the 2010 season and give special recognition to the senior class.

Hayley Rausch (Severna Park, Md.) was presented the Susan Kilmister Memorial Award, which was established in 1989 to recognize a student-athlete who embodies Sue's dedication, accomplishments and sportsmanship. Rausch led the Wildcats in both assists and points and ranked third in goals. The junior forward ranked 16th in the nation in assists per game and was atop the America East conference in that statistic. Rausch's 2010 accolades included Longstreth/NFHCA Division I Northeast Region Second Team and America East All-Conference Second Team.

Whitney Frates (Woodstock, Vt.) was announced as the recipient of the Joyce V. Hiller Scholarship Award. Since 1999, this award has been presented to the Wildcat who is always there with a helping hand and gives selflessly to the program. Frates, a junior forward, tied for the team lead in goals and ranked second in points as well as fourth in assists. Frates' 2010 accolades included Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-America Second Team, Northeast Region First Team and America East All-Conference First Team. In previous years, Frates was feted with the Marisa Didio Award (2009) and Joyce V. Hiller Award (2010).

Emma Erler (New Hampton, N.H.) was honored with the Marisa Didio Award. The award was established in 2006 and is in recognition of the UNH player who represents the Extra Mile Theory (Some choose the shortest distance doing only what is required. Others give of themselves more freely and go the extra mile."). Erler started all 20 games in which she played in the 2010 season and tallied six points on two goals and two assists. Beyond the statistics, the sophomore midfielder was an integral part of UNH's defensive penalty corner unit and the Wildcats' transition game. Erler was voted to the 2010 America East Field Hockey All-Academic Team.

Two new awards were introduced this season. The inaugural Donna Lynne '74 Scholarship Award was presented to Kyle Lyons (White River Junction, Vt.) for "substantial contribution to the team through athletic and leadership abilities." Lyons, a junior back, helped anchor the defensive unit and was an integral part of both the defensive and offensive penalty corner units. She tied for the team lead in goals to rank seventh in America East in goals per game and ninth in points per game. Lyons' other 2010 accolades included Northeast Region Second Team and All-Conference Second Team.

The Freshman Award is an honor the senior class bestows upon a deserving freshman, and the first-ever Freshman Award is shared by Megan Bozek (Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.) and Casey Pohlmeyer (Millersville, Md.), both of whom were named to the 2010 America East All-Rookie Team. The freshmen backs were linchpins of the defense, including the penalty corner unit, and were also utilized on the offensive penalty corner unit. Bozek recorded 12 points on six goals and Pohlmeyer finished with six points on three goals.

In addition, Kara Connolly (Mohegan Lake, N.Y.) was recognized as the only senior on the squad. The captain had a breakout senior season in which she ranked third on the team in assists, fourth in points and tied for fourth in goals. With those statistics, Connolly ranked third in the conference in assists per game as well as 10th in points per game. In 70 career games, she tallied eight goals and 20 assists for 36 points. Connolly's collegiate accolades include Northeast Region Second Team and All-Conference Team in 2010 as well as America East Academic Honor Roll (2008, 2009, 2010). She is a previous recipient of the Susan Kilmister Memorial Award (2010).


2011 UNH Field Hockey Banquet Awards

Susan Kilmister Memorial Award: Hayley Rausch

Joyce V. Hiller Scholarship Award: Whitney Frates

Marisa Didio Award: Emma Erler

Donna Lynne '74 Scholarship Award: Kyle Lyons

Freshman Award: Megan Bozek, Casey Pohlmeyer

View: Mobile | Desktop