New Hampshire's Jessica Russell named to ECAC All-Star Team

CENTERVILLE, Mass. - Jessica Russell (Harrisville, R.I.), a senior midfielder and co-captain on the University of New Hampshire field hockey team, was named to the Eastern College Athletic Conference Division I Field Hockey All-Star Team, the conference announced Wednesday.

Russell's other postseason honors this year included All-America Second Team, Northeast Regional All-America First Team, America East Player of the Year and America East First Team.

She led New Hampshire, which finished with a 14-8 record following a first-round loss in the NCAAs, in both goals (17) and points (40). Those numbers rank her third on the program's top single-season points list and fourth on the goals list. Other highlights from this season included three game-winning goals and an eight-game goal-scoring streak. Russell finished her Wildcat career with 65 points on 26 goals and 13 assists to rank 11th in both points and goals.

This is the inagural postseason team selected by the ECAC in Division I field hockey. The team is selected by Div. I field hockey coaches within the conference.

Princeton University's Hilary Matson was named ECAC Player of the Year. Maryland dominated the First Team with five players - Keli Smith, Carla Tagliente, Caroline Walker, Rachel Hiskins and Autumn Welsh. Laura Klein and Katie Stephens of Connecticut, Zowie Tucker (Massachusetts) and Melanie Meerschwam (Princeton) rounded out the First Team.

View: Mobile | Desktop