PHILADELPHIA, Pa. -UNH sophomore linebacker Matt Evans (Hanover, Mass.) is one of the latest additions to the 2010 Buck Buchanan National Defensive Player of Year Award Watch List, sponsored by  Evans' addition to the 20-player list gives CAA Football a total of six student-athletes recognized as candidates for the honor this season.

The Buchanan Award is in its 16th season and will be presented to the FCS National Defensive Player of the Year on Thursday, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas - the night before the national championship game.

Evans, a 6-foot, 219-pound redshirt sophomore, has posted double figures in tackles in eight of New Hampshire's nine games, including a career-high 20 against William and Mary. He is tied for third in the FCS with 12.56 tackles per game. He also leads the Wildcats with 56 solo tackles and 11 tackles for a loss, while registering three sacks, two forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and an interception.

A panel of nearly 175 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the Buchanan Award winner after the regular season.  

The Sports Network also presents the Walter Payton and Eddie Robinson awards which are sponsored by Fathead. The Payton Award honors the FCS Player of the Year and the Robinson Award honors the FCS Coach of the Year. Those two awards, like the Buchanan, will be presented at the national awards banquet.

View: Mobile | Desktop