May 24, 2013

Men's Soccer Announces 2013 Schedule

2013 Schedule

DURHAM, N.H. – Head coach Rob Thompson of the University of New Hampshire men's soccer team has announced the team's schedule for the upcoming 2013 season. The Wildcats are slated to play seven home games, split between Bremner Field and Cowell Stadium.

The team kicks the season off on the road as it travels to Peoria, Ill. for the Bradley University Tournament. On Friday, Aug. 30 (7 p.m.), the Wildcats face host Bradley while on Sunday, Sept. 1 (10:30 a.m.), UNH will play Evansville. New Hampshire will then travel to the University of Vermont for the Smith Barney Classic. There, it will play UMass on Friday, Sept. 6 (1:30 p.m.), followed by Colgate on Sunday, Sept. 8 at 11 a.m. The 'Cats will finish the road stretch at Marist on Saturday, Sept. 14 at 7 p.m.

New Hampshire then heads back to Wildcat Country to host Rhode Island in the home opener on Wednesday, Sept. 18. Kickoff is set for 4 p.m. The 'Cats remain at home when they take on Grand Canyon the following Saturday, Sept. 21 (7 p.m.). The team hits the road again to battle Hofstra Saturday, Sept. 28 (7 p.m.) for a night tilt. The following game will be played at UMass Lowell on Saturday, Oct. 5, starting the conference slate. Kickoff is still to be determined.

UNH returns home for a trio of contests, starting with non-conference opponent Brown on Tuesday, Oct. 8 at 3:30 p.m. The Wildcats will resume conference action Saturday, Oct. 12 when they host Stony Brook at 7 p.m. The team wraps up the home stand with a night tilt against Hartford on Wednesday, Oct. 16 (7 p.m.).

On the road again, New Hampshire travels to the University of Maryland, Baltimore County for a night contest on Saturday, Oct. 19. The last time the two teams squared off, UNH fell in heartbreaking fashion in the America East Championship game with the Retrievers taking it in penalty kicks. The Wildcats remain on the road when they travel to Albany on Oct. 26 at 7 p.m. Taking a break from conference play, UNH then travels to Dartmouth on Tuesday, Oct. 29 (6 p.m.).

The 'Cats will wrap up the regular season with a pair of home games, the first of which is slated against Binghamton. Kickoff is set for Saturday, Nov. 2 at 1 p.m. New Hampshire will then honor its seniors with the final game of the season against the University of Vermont. The game is set for Wednesday, Nov. 6 at 7 p.m.

For more information on the men's soccer program, visit www.UNHWildcats.com.

View: Mobile | Desktop