DURHAM, N.H. - University of New Hampshire junior forward Darren Haydar (Milton, Ont.) has been named captain of the 2001-2002 UNH men's ice hockey team and was named the Ted Karmeris Most Exciting Player. Along with Haydar, sophomore defenseman Garrett Stafford (Los Angeles, Calif.) and sophomore forward Patrick Foley (Milton, Mass.) were named assistant captains at the UNH Hockey Banquet on Saturday afternoon at the Whittemore Center Arena.

Senior goaltender Ty Conklin (Anchorage, Alaska) was named the Most Valuable Player for his efforts this past season. Conklin was a Hobey Baker finalist and a first-team All-America selection in the 2000-2001 season. He was 17-12-5 with a 2.05 GAA and a .920 save percentage and recently signed a three-year professional contract with the Edmonton Oilers of the National Hockey League.

In 2000, Haydar was the team's leading scorer with 41 points and he has scored 40 or more points in his three seasons as a Wildcat. Stafford was the fourth leading scorer on the squad and top point producer on the blueline with 26 points. Foley redshirted the 2000-2001 season due to bi-lateral knee reconstructions.

Here is the full list of award recipients:

Best Defenseman - Garrett Stafford
Guy Smith Award (Best Offensive Player) - Darren Haydar
Bob Kullen Unsung Player Award - Matt Swain
Best Defensive Forward - C.J. Ficek
Most Improved Player - Josh Prudden
Sid Knight Award (Academic) - David Busch
Charles E. Holt Coaches Award - Eric Lind
Most Valuable Player - Ty Conklin
Ted Karmeris Award (Most Exciting Player) - Darren Haydar

2001-2002 Captains
C- Darren Haydar
A- Patrick Foley
A- Garrett Stafford


View: Mobile | Desktop