DURHAM, N.H. - Senior goaltender Ty Conklin (Anchorage, Alaska) of the University of New Hampshire men's ice hockey team was named to the 2001 New England Hockey All-Star Team selected by the New England Hockey Writers Association. Conklin also earned New England All-Star honors as a rookie in the 1998-99 season.

Conklin leaves UNH with the following awards: two-time Hobey Baker finalist (2000, 2001), Second Team All-America (2000), Hockey East Co-Player of the Year (2000), All-Hockey East team (1999, 2000, 2001), New England Hockey All-Star Team (1999, 2001), Hockey East All-Rookie Team (1999) and the Walter Brown Award (2001).

Conklin will be formally recognized at the 2001 New England Hockey Writers Banquet, which is held at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. on Wednesday, April 11. Please Contact John Bishop at Northeastern University for more information (617-373-4458).

Here is a look at the 2001 New England Hockey All-Star Team:

Ty Conklin G Sr. UNH
Nolan Schaefer G So. Providence
Brian Gionta F Sr. Boston College
Jeff Hamilton F Sr. Yale
Devin Rask F So. Providence
Krys Kolanos F So. Boston College
Carl Corrazini F Sr. Boston University
Dominic Moore F So. Harvard
Ron Hainsey D So. UMass-Lowell
Bobby Allen D Sr. Boston College
Matt Libby D Sr. Providence
Trevor Byrne D So. Dartmouth

Coach of the Year: Paul Pooley, Providence


View: Mobile | Desktop