Athletic Department Congratulates Super Bowl Champion Jared Smith

DURHAM, N.H. – The University of New Hampshire athletic department congratulates Super Bowl XLVIII champion Jared Smith (Greencastle, Pa.) of the Seattle Seahawks. Smith, a member of the Wildcats from 2008-12, was Seattle's seventh-round pick in the 2013 NFL Draft.

Smith, who was selected by the Seahawks with the 35th pick in the seventh round (No. 241 overall), became the 13th UNH football player ever selected in the NFL Draft and the first since defensive back Corey Graham (Chicago Bears, fifth round, 2007). Now the 23-year-old Smith joins Graham in another prestigious category –Super Bowl champion. Just one year after Graham's Baltimore Ravens were Super Bowl XLVII champs, Smith's Seahawks defeated the Denver Broncos, 43-8, at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., on Sunday.

The 6-foot-4, 302-pound Smith spent his entire rookie season on the Seahawks' practice squad as an offensive lineman. In his 2012 season as a defensive tackle at UNH, Smith earned a berth on the The Sports Network All-America Third Team, the Beyond Sports Network All-America Third Team, the All-CAA First Team, the College Sports Madness All-CAA First Team and the All-New England Team. The DT started 11 games and compiled 40 tackles, 26 solo, with a team-leading 10 tackles for loss (0.91 per game), which ranked fifth in the CAA. He tied for the team lead with four sacks, forced two fumbles, recovered a fumble, collected four pass breakups and tallied a team-high three blocked kicks.

Smith joins Graham, Bruce Huther (Dallas Cowboys, Super Bowl XII) and Dan Kreider (Pittsburgh Steelers, Super Bowl XL) as former Wildcats to win the NFL championship. Other former Wildcats to appear in the Super Bowl were Dwayne Sabb (New England Patriots, Super Bowl XXXI) and Scott Curtis (Denver Broncos, Super Bowl XXIV), while Huther returned to the big game with the Cowboys in a losing effort in Super Bowl XIII.

For more information on UNH football, visit

View: Mobile | Desktop