Larusson, Fosnaes, Teschner, Oliver Named Skiing MVPs

DURHAM, N.H. – Katrin Larusson (Truckee, Calif.) and Eirik Fosnaes (Hovik, Norway) were feted as Nordic team MVPs, while Randa Teschner (Petawawa, Ontario) and Coley Oliver (Salt Lake City, Utah) were honored as alpine team MVPs to highlight the University of New Hampshire skiing team's 2014 season banquet. 

Larusson, a freshman, was tabbed the 2014 Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association (EISA) Women's Nordic Rookie of the Year after registering the East's No. 10 ranking and competing at the NCAA Skiing Championships, hosted by the University of Utah. The Truckee, Calif., native notched a career-high, third-place finish in the 5K freestyle at Vermont on Feb. 2 and added a seventh-place result in the 5K free at Dartmouth (Feb. 7). Larusson collected a pair of 10th-place finishes in classical races --the 5K classic at UNH (Jan. 24) and the 5K classic at the EISA Championships (Middlebury Carnival) on Feb. 21. The All-East Second-Team skier recorded points in 11 races and was recently nominated to the New England Nordic Ski Association (NENSA) Development Team.

Fosnaes, a sophomore, earned a berth on the All-East Second Team and reached the NCAA Championships as the EISA's No. 7 male racer. The University of Maine at Presque Isle transfer skied to second place in the 10K freestyle at Vermont (Feb. 2) for a season best in that discipline, and his top classic results included sixth place in 20K classic at Dartmouth (Feb. 8), third place in 10K classic at Williams (Feb. 15) and fifth place in 10K classic at the EISA Championships (Feb. 21).

Teschner made it back-to-back team MVP awards after repeating as an All-America and an All-East Second Teamer during her sophomore campaign. Teschner claimed All-America Second Team in giant slalom (10th place) and slalom (sixth place) at the NCAA Championships to conclude a season in which she was ranked 10th in the East. The native of Petawawa, Ontario, rattled off five top-5 SL finishes during the carnival season, including third place at Dartmouth (Feb. 8) and four separate fourth-place results. 

Oliver, a junior, is a three-time NCAA qualifier and two-time competitor who took home All-America Second Team in slalom (eighth place) this season. The two-time All-East Second Team alpine skier paired a No. 8 slalom rank with a No. 10 giant slalom rank for 10th overall in the East. Oliver, who competed for the U.S. Men's National University Team at the Winter World University Games in December, boasted his top GS result (fifth) at Dartmouth on Feb. 7 and his best SL finish (fourth) at the EISAs on Feb. 21.  

Thirty-second year Nordic head coach Cory Schwartz and seventh-year alpine head coach Brian Blank honored their EISA All-East Second Team members: Larusson; Fosnaes; Teschner; Oliver and Nordic junior men's co-captain Per Lindgren (Pitea, Sweden).

Oliver was feted for his selection to the U.S. National University Team, and Annika Taylor (Truckee, Calif.) was honored for competing for the British Nordic Ski Team at the U23 World Championships.

Additionally, Taylor was recognized for her nomination to the 2014-15 NENSA Elite Team, while Larusson and senior Nordic co-captain Elizabeth Izzo (Lake Placid, N.Y.) garnered NENSA Development Team nominations.

The Wildcats boasted 14 members of the National Ski Coaches Association All-Academic Team: Fosnaes; Lizzie Gill (Bozeman, Mont./Nordic); Kris Hopkins (North Andover, Mass./alpine); Izzo; Charlie Kidd (Toronto, Ontario/alpine); Morgan Klein (Oregon, Wis./alpine); Emily Larson (Boulder, Colo./Nordic); Larusson; Lindgren; Will Meyer (Bozeman, Mont./Nordic); Jay Ogle (Pittsfield, Mass./alpine); Oliver; Laura Rozinowicz (Toronto, Ontario/alpine) and Taylor.

The following Chi Alpha Sigma Honor Society inductees were commended: second-year recipients Hopkins, Izzo, Jenna Kantor (East Burke, Vt./alpine), Kidd and Rozinowicz, along with first-time honorees Lindgren, Meyer, Anne Miller (Whitefish, Mont./Nordic), Tristan Ramey (Anchorage, Alaska/Nordic), Sam Reed (Keene, N.H./Nordic) and Taylor.

The 11 skiers who competed at the NCAA Championships were saluted; those included alpine skiers Katie Farrow (Toronto, Ontario), Hopkins, Ogle, Oliver, Rozinowicz and Teschner to go along with Nordic student-athletes Fosnaes, Larusson, Lindgren, Johnny Springer (Jackson, Wyo.) and Taylor. The 'Cats finished 11th at NCAAs.

The senior class was recognized for its contributions to the UNH skiing program. Izzo, Miller and Springer from the Nordic team, and Geoff Bonewald (New London, N.H.), Sam Coffey (Snowmass, Colo.), Eric Coffin (Sugar Hill, N.H.) and Hopkins from the alpine team.

View: Mobile | Desktop