COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Four University of New Hampshire alums – Karyn Bye (’93), Colleen Coyne (’93), Tricia Dunn (’95) and Sue Merz (‘94) – will be enshrined into the United State Hockey Hall of Fame as members of the 1998 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team, USA Hockey announced Tuesday. That Olympic team comprises the Class of 2009 with Tony Amonte, Tom Barrasso, John LeClair and Frank Zamboni.

Legendary UNH men’s hockey coach Charlie Holt and Wildcat alum Rod Langway (’77) were enshrined into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997 and 1999, respectively.

Bye, one of the most prolific scorers in UNH history (100g, 64a), served as an assistant captain on the ’98 Olympic team. She scored a team-high five goals and tied for the team lead in points with eight. Bye also skated in the ’02 Olympics and competed in six IIHF World Championships.

Coyne recorded a plus/minus of +7 in skating in all six Olympic games in 1998. The defenseman, who tallied 24 goals and 45 assists in 90 career games as a UNH Wildcat, was also a teammate of Bye in three IIHF World Championships.

Dunn, who finished with 60 goals and 57 assists in 80 career games at UNH, tallied a goal and a +4 rating at the ’98 Olympics. She went on to compete at both the 2002 and 2006 Olympics and also participated in five IIHF World Championships.

Merz, another member of UNH’s Century Club (53g, 54a), tied for the team lead in assists (five) at the ’98 Olympics; she also recorded a goal and a +10 rating, which was second best on the team. Merz played in the 2002 Olympics as well as six IIHF World Championships.

The success of the 1998 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team had a powerful impact on the growth of girls' and women's hockey in the United States. The team twice defeated archrival Canada, including 3-1 in the gold-medal game, en route to winning the first gold medal presented in women's ice hockey at an Olympic Winter Games. Team USA finished the tournament undefeated (6-0-0) and outscored its opponents, 36-8.

The date and location of the official induction ceremonies associated with the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2009 will be released in August. The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame was founded in 1973. To date, there are 138 enshrined members in the Hall.

View: Mobile | Desktop