Men’s Hockey Earns Hockey East Charlie Holt Sportsmanship Award

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – The 18th-ranked University of New Hampshire men's hockey team was honored as the recipient of the Charlie Holt Sportsmanship Award, bestowed annually to the least penalized team in Hockey East. The first round of awards were announced Wednesday, March 19 by the league office. The Hockey East All-Star Team, Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced at the league's awards banquet Thursday, March 20 at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge.

The 2013-14 season marks the ninth time that the program has earned the Charlie Holt Sportsmanship Award, named after the former UNH coach. It is also the fifth consecutive honor for the Wildcats. This award is given to the team that receives the lowest average penalty minutes per game over the course of regular season Hockey East play. The Team Sportsmanship Award was established by the league's directors in 1992 and was renamed to honor Holt in 1998. The award is in the form of a shadow box with etched glass depicting the image of New Hampshire's legendary coach. The Wildcats were whistled for a league-low 156 penalty minutes in 20 conference games.  Of the 59 Division I hockey teams, UNH ranked 57th in penalty minutes per game, averaging just 8.0. 

The Wildcats spar with the Providence College Friars on Friday, March 21 in the Hockey East semifinal round, starting at 8 p.m. Tickets for the game may be purchased through Ticketmaster or at the TD Bank Garden box office.

View: Mobile | Desktop