Moses tabbed MVP; Hardowa named Captain at Wildcat hockey banquet

Stevie Moses
Connor Hardowa
Brett Kostolansky
Greg Burke
Damon Kipp
Mike Borisenok
Nick Sorkin
Jay Camper
Matt Di Girolamo
Kevin McCarey

DURHAM, N.H.— Senior forward Stevie Moses (Leominster, Mass.) of the University of New Hampshire men's ice hockey team was presented the Roger A. LeClerc Award as the team's Most Valuable Player for the 2011-12 season, announced at the annual team awards banquet Saturday evening at the Huddleston Hall Ballroom.

Moses was also the recipient of the Guy Smith Award and Frank "The Fan" Halbert Fan Favorite Award. The Guy Smith Award is given annually to the best offensive player on the team, while the Fan Favorite award celebrates the player who captures the admiration of the 'Fans in the Stands' as voted by those fans. The award was renamed in 2012 for Frank "The Fan" Halbert, who was the quintessential fan of all UNH athletics. Moses performed at a top level this season, recording 35 points on a team-high 22 goals and 13 assists. His play earned him Hockey East Player of The Week two times this season. His first on November 28th following a four-goal performance in 9-1 win against Alabama-Huntsville, while the second honor came following a 4-1 win against Dartmouth in which Moses scored every goal for the team. Moses finished his career with 98 points on 47 goals and 51 assists.

Junior Connor Hardowa (Edmonton, Alberta) was named the 109th captain in the history of the UNH hockey program for the 2012-13 season. In addition, juniors Greg Burke (Lee, N.H.) and Brett Kostolansky (Denver, Colo.) were named the alternate captains for the upcoming season.

Hardowa was also named the winner of the Rod Langway Best Defenseman Award for his defensive play throughout the season. Hardowa played in 36 of the team's 37 games this season and recorded 15 points on five goals and 10 assists. In an overtime win against Providence, Hardowa recorded two crucial points, earning the team's first goal and then registering an assist on the overtime goal. Heading into his senior year, Hardowa has totaled 28 points on nine goals and 19 assists.

Burke posted a career-high six goals and earned five assists on the season. The forward also earned one multi-point game during the year, a two-assist performance against Harvard. In a win against Vermont on senior night, Burke earned the game-winning goal, a power-play tally on a rebound following a Rob Madore save.

Kostolansky appeared in every game for UNH, recording five points on three goals and two assists. The junior blue-liner registered four of his five points in Hockey East play. Kostolansky scored a goal against Massachusetts that turned out to be the game winner in a 7-3 UNH victory. Entering his senior season, Kostolansky has 36 points on eight goals and 28 assists.

Senior co-captain Damon Kipp (Salmon Arm, British Columbia) collects the Charles E. Holt Coaches Award, as voted by the coaching staff for the player who made large contributions both on and off the ice. He also received the SOC Nate Hardy Ironman Award as the Wildcat player who excels in the weight room through a 15-event competition during fall dry-land training.  The award was named in honor of Nate Hardy, a Navy SEAL who was killed in action in Iraq in early February 2008. Kipp anchored a stingy UNH defense that was tough to score on down the stretch. He registered 14 points on four goals and 10 assists. In addition, Kipp finished with 45 points in 140 games during his collegiate career.

Senior co-captain Mike Borisenok (Watervliet, N.Y.) was named the recipient of the Warren Brown Award, which is given annually to the best defensive forward on UNH's roster. Borisenok, who is a three-time winner of this award, earned 12 points on six goals and six assists this season. The captain recorded one shorthanded goal on the season, helping UNH rank ninth in the country in the category. Borisenok finished his career as a Wildcat with 49 points on 19 goals and 30 assists.

Senior forward Kevin McCarey (Baldwinsville, N.Y.) earns the 2011-12 Robert A. Kullen Unsung Hero award. McCarey played in all 37 games for the Wildcats, earning 12 points on four goals and eight assists. McCarey had a knack for scoring big goals in crucial moments. Two of his goals were game-winners, highlighted by an overtime tally against Providence. Another highlight for the season came on senior night when he scored the first goal of the game, propelling the team to victory against Vermont.

Sophomore forward Nick Sorkin (Rockville, Md.) collected the team's Most Improved Player award. Sorkin's improvement was evident from his numbers. In his freshman campaign Sorkin posted three goals and two assists. This season he really stepped it up a notch, recording nine goals and a team-high 26 assists. The 26 assists ranked seventh in the Hockey East and his 0.70 assists per game ranked 23rd in the nation. Sorkin registered eight multi-point games on the season, highlighted by a career-high five assist output against Alabama Huntsville.

Freshman forward Jay Camper (Rocky River, Ohio) won the SID Knight Award that is presented to the player with the best grade point average on the team. Camper, a business major, played in 13 games during his freshman campaign. He recorded two points one goal and one assist. Camper registered his first career point, a goal, in a win against Maine (11/5/11).

Senior netminder Matt Di Girolamo (Ambler, Pa.) was named the recipient of the Whoop Snively Citizenship and Service Award. The Whoop Snively Citizenship and Service Award is presented to the player who has distinguished himself through his citizenship and service to the University and the community.  This award was established in 2009 by Timothy J. Churchard '67 to honor his coach and mentor - A. Barr "Whoop" Snively who was the hockey, lacrosse and football coach at UNH from 1953-1964. Being college hockey's ironman leading the nation in minutes played and saves as a junior, Matt Di Girolamo was accustom to spending all of his time in between the UNH pipes. As a junior, he missed just 2:07 of time during the 2010-11 season. However, this season after early struggles, Di Girolamo assumed a new role for the Wildcats. Di Girolamo, the experienced veteran, served as mentor to freshman netminder Casey DeSmith. The senior goaltender competed hard in practice every week and helped advise DeSmith about the rigors of being a goalie in the highly competitive Hockey East league.

Senior goalie Kieran Millan of Boston University was named the recipient of the Terry Morton Most Worthy Opponent Award. Millan recorded another solid season for the Terriers, posting a 20-14-1 record, a 2.60 goals against average and a .923 save percentage. Players and fans in Durham will be happy to see this four-year starter in net graduate this season. Millan stymied the Wildcats this season, earning himself a 4-1-0 record and a holding a 1.67 goals against average against UNH.

Award Summary:

Award Player Class Position

Roger A. LeClerc Trophy (MVP) Stevie Moses Sr. Forward

2012-13 Captains Captain Connor Hardowa Jr. Defense

Alternate Capt. Greg Burke Jr. Forward

Alternate Capt. Brett Kostolansky Jr. Defense

Most Improved Player Award Nick Sorkin So. Forward

Frank "The Fan" Halbert Fan Favorite Award Stevie Moses Sr. Forward

Warren R. Brown Memorial Trophy Mike Borisenok Sr. Forward (Best Defensive Forward)

Guy Smith Award (Best Forward) Stevie Moses Sr. Forward

Sid Knight Award (Best GPA) Jay Camper Fr. Forward

Robert A. Kullen (Unsung Hero) Kevin McCarey Sr. Forward

Charles E. Holt Coaches Award Damon Kipp Sr. Forward

Rod Langway Best Defenseman Award Connor Hardowa Jr. Defense

SCO Nate Hardy Ironman Award Damon Kipp Sr. Defense

Snively Citizenship and Service Award Matt Di Girolamo Sr. Goalie

Terry Morton Most Worthy Opponent Kieran Millan Sr. Goalie (Boston University)

View: Mobile | Desktop