The University of New Hampshire men's hockey team has three players on this year's ballot for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, given to the nation's top Division I men's hockey player. Bobby Butler (Marlboro, Mass.), Brian Foster (Pembroke, N.H.) and Blake Kessel (Verona, Wis.) are all on the ballot and fans are encouraged to vote for their favorite players now online at

Awarded annually to college hockey’s top player, the Hobey Baker’s highly popular fan-voting phase opens on Friday, Jan. 8. Visit the Hobey Baker website: Click on the Vote for Hobey Baker icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year’s outstanding crop of college hockey players.

This first phase of fan balloting will run now through March 7, 2010. Phase two of fan balloting will begin on March 19 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists. The fans’ vote accounts for a full 1 percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient.

Award criteria include candidates emulating the exceptional character traits exhibited by the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker, a World War I flying star better known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day. Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2010 include:
Top Ten list of candidates: March 18
Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists: March 31
Hobey Baker Award winner: April 9

The 2010 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 9, 2010 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Detroit, Mich. The 30th annual award announcement honoring college hockey’s top player will be televised live during prime time on ESPNU. For more info on the Hobey Baker Award or to access the Hobey logo, please visit

View: Mobile | Desktop