The Hockey East Association is pleased to announce that tickets to the 2009 Hockey East Championship Tournament will go on sale Saturday, Dec. 6, at 11:00 a.m. at the TD Banknorth Garden box office. Tickets can also be purchased online at or by calling Ticketmaster at (617) 931-2000. This year’s event is Hockey East’s 25th tournament.

The tournament semifinal games will take place on Friday, March 20th, and are scheduled to face off at 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. The ticket prices of $17/$29 in the balcony or $37/$39 per seat in the loge or premium seats include admission to both semifinal games. Winners of the semifinals will advance to the title game at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 21st, to determine the winner of the 2009 Lamoriello Trophy. Ticket prices will again be $17/$29 for balcony seats and $37/$39 per seat in the loge or premium seats.

Student tickets (located in the upper balcony) are available for $10 when showing a valid student ID, either on campus or at the TD Banknorth Garden box office. Groups of 15 or more are also eligible for a $5 discount on either the $29 or $17 balcony seats. All discounted tickets must be purchased at the TD Banknorth Garden box office. Discounted tickets will not be available via phone or internet sales through Ticketmaster. Tickets will be available on the campuses beginning on Monday, March 16, once the four schools qualify.

Given the sellout or near sellout crowds of recent years, the league highly recommends that fans purchase their tickets in advance to avoid missing one of college’s hockey premier conference tournaments. The winner of the tournament will earn an automatic berth into the 62nd annual NCAA Championships. Advance ticket sales have steadily increased every year with growing demand, particularly in December, when college hockey fans use the opportunity to purchase them as holiday gifts.

“We fully expect heavy interest in these tickets the first week they are on sale,” said Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna. “This year’s tournament will feature some special events as we celebrate our 25th anniversary. And looking at the standings today, it certainly appears that it could be anyone’s title.” Boston College won its league-leading eighth tournament title last year, defeating the University of Vermont, 4-0, in a successful title defense en route to an NCAA championship. The Eagles have now won three of the last four Hockey East tournaments (2005, 2007 and 2008).

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team, Division-I college hockey conference, with offices based in Wakefield, Mass. Founded in 1983, the league has won four NCAA championships in the past 13 years. The league also sponsors an eight-team women’s league which began play in 2002-03.

View: Mobile | Desktop