BOSTON – Sophomore forward James van Riemsdyk (Middletown, N.J.) of the University of New Hampshire men’s hockey team was named a semifinalist for the 57th annual Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England. Last year, van Riemsdyk was a semifinalist along with eventual winner Kevin Regan.

van Riemsdyk were among 16 semifinalists selected by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston, as announced by president Tim Whelan on Feb. 2. van Riemsdyk was among a list of four players that are repeat nominees (BC’s Benn Ferriero, PC’s Matt Taormina, UMass’ James Marcou).

van Riemsdyk ranks 19th nationally and fourth in Hockey East in scoring with 27 points (9g, 18a), despite missing a game for the World Juniors Championship. Prior to the World Juniors, van Riemsdyk had an impressive stretch where he had 19 points during a 10-game scoring streak.

Including Regan in 2008, UNH has had six former Wildcats earn the Walter Brown Award including Bob Miller (1977), Ralph Cox (1979), Ty Conklin (2001), Mike Ayers (2003) and Steve Saviano (2004).

The Gridiron Club plans to announce the finalists and winner of the 57th Walter Brown Award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of NCAA Tournament play.

The No. 11-ranked Wildcats return to action Friday, Feb. 7 against Maine. Game time at Whittemore Center is 7:30 p.m. The game will be televised on NESN with radio coverage on the UNH Sports Network.

View: Mobile | Desktop