DURHAM, N.H.— For the second-straight season, senior assistant captain Kevin Regan (South Boston, Mass.) of the University of New Hampshire men’s hockey team was presented the Roger A. Leclerc Award as the team's Most Valuable Player for the 2007-08 season, as announced at the annual team awards banquet Saturday afternoon at the Whittemore Center.

It marks the seventh time in Wildcat hockey history that a player won the MVP award in back-to-back seasons.

Regan leaves UNH after having one of the most decorated seasons in UNH history. He was named a Hobey Baker finalist, a first team All American, Hockey East Player of the Year (unanimous selection), New England’s Most Valuable Player, Walter Brown Award winner (given annually to the top American born college hockey player in New England) and selected to the All-Hockey East First Team. He posted a 2.21 GAA and a .930 save percentage, which ranked sixth nationally. The senior netminder garnered the Hockey East Defensive Player of the Week seven times this season and broke numerous goaltending records in the process. Regan leaves as the career leader in wins (70), saves (3,235), save percentage (.928), minutes played (6598:31) and games played (112). In a rich history of goaltending at UNH, Regan leaves as the only goaltender in UNH history to capture back-to-back 20-win seasons.

Juniors Greg Collins (Fairport, N.Y.) and Joe Charlebois (Potsdam, N.Y.) were named the 102nd and 103rd captains in the history of UNH hockey for the 2007-08 season.

Collins was also the recipient of the Warren Brown Award for the second-straight season, given annually to the best defensive forward on UNH’s roster, and earned the Robert Kullen Award as the unsung hero of Wildcats in 07-08. Collins has tallied 11 points (4g, 7a) in 36 games this season for the ‘Cats, recorded a multiple-point night with a goal and an assist against North Dakota on Dec. 29.

Charlebois was named Hockey East’s Best Defensive Defenseman. He registered a career-high nine points on a goal and eight assists in 38 games this season. Charlebois’ +26 plus/minus rating was tops on the team.

Senior assistant captain Brad Flaishans (Glendale, Ariz.) earned the Rod Langway Best Defenseman Award.  Flaishans was also named the Sid Knight recipient for his outstanding academic achievement in the classroom, becoming the first player in program history to capture the honor in four-straight seasons. Flaishans, a first team All-Hockey East and a New England All Star, was among the top offensive defensemen in Hockey East ranking third at 0.65 ppg (5g, 19a). He’s the leading scorer among UNH defenseman and had a +8 rating this season. Recently selected to the Frozen Four Skills Challenge team, Flaishans posted a career-best 24 points as he finished his career with 67 points in 144 games.

Craig Switzer (Peachland, B.C.) garnered the Charles E. Holt Coaches Award, as voted by the coaching staff and goes to the player who makes large contributions both on and off the ice.  Switzer was selected to the All-Hockey East Second Team. An iron man on defense, Switzer played in all but one game during his collegiate career. He finished tied with Darren Haydar for the program record of consecutive games played at 158.  Switzer tallied a career-high 20 points (6g, 14a) this season. Switzer’s six goals rank first among UNH blueliners and finished his storied career with 67 points in four seasons.

Junior forward Thomas Fortney (Webster Groves, Mo.) was named the SOC Nate Harty Ironman Award winner as the Wildcat player who excels in the weight room through a 15-event competition during fall dry-land training.  The award was named in honor of Nate Hardy, a Navy SEAL who was killed in action in Iraq in early February. Nate entered the Navy after graduating from Oyster River High School in 1997. In his short career, he achieved the rank of Chief Petty Officer, served in four SEAL team deployments, and earned numerous medals including two Bronze Stars and a Purple Heart.  Nate was the son of Donna and Stephen Hardy, both long-time employees at UNH.

Senior forwards Matt Fornataro (Calgary, Alberta) and Mike Radja (Yorkville, Ill.) won the Guy Smith Award given annual to the best offensive player. Fornataro, a second-team All-Hockey East selection and a New England All Star, led the Wildcats in scoring at 46 points (18g, 28a). A senior captain, Fornataro appeared in 156 games over four years at UNH, tallying 44 goals, 74 assists as he ranked the top 50 all-time scorers in UNH history. Radja, a first-team All-Hockey East selection and a New England All Star, ranked second behind Fornataro in scoring, but led the 'Cats with 19 goals including his team-best six game-winning goals which ranked fourth nationally. Radja was College Hockey Association's National Player of the Month in February and earned Inside College Hockey's National Player of the Week on Feb. 11. He led the 'Cats to an unbeaten mark of 7-0-1 during February.

Sophomore defenseman Nick Krates (Palos Park, Ill.) earned the Most Improved Player Award in his first season in Durham. Krates, who played in just one game as a freshman, saw a significant increase in playing time this year for the ‘Cats, playing in 36 games. He tallied his first collegiate point with an assist in the Hockey East semifinals against Boston College at the TD Banknorth Garden and owned a +5 plus/minus rating this season.

Senior forward Nathan Gerbe of Boston College, a Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalist, was named the recipient of the Terry Morton Most Worthy Opponent Award. Gerbe helped guide the Eagles to the Hockey East tournament championship and a national championship for the first time since 2001.

Award Summary:
Award                                                               Player                      Class        Position 
Roger A. LeClerg Trophy (MVP)                   Kevin Regan             Sr.          Goaltender
2008-09 Captains                                          Greg Collins (co)      Jr.          Forward
                                                                           Joe Charlebois (co) Jr.          Defenseman    
Most Improved Player Award                        Nick Krates               So.         Defenseman
Ted Karmeris Fan Favorite Award               Mike Radja                Sr.         Forward
Warren R. Brown Memorial Trophy             Greg Collins              Jr.         Forward
    (Best Defensive Forward)
Guy Smith Award                                            Matt Fornataro (co)   Sr.        Forward
    (Best Offensive Player)                              Mike Radja (co)        Sr.        Forward
Sid Knight Award (Best GPA)                        Brad Flaishans        Sr.        Defenseman
Robert A. Kullen (Unsung Hero)                  Greg Collins             Jr.        Forward
Charles E. Holt Coaches Award                  Craig Switzer            Sr.        Defenseman
Rod Langway Best Defenseman Award    Brad Flaishans        Sr.        Defenseman
SCO Nate Harty Ironman Award                   Thomas Fortney     Jr.        Forward
Terry Morton Most Worthy Opponent            Nathan Gerbe         Sr.        Forward (Boston College)

View: Mobile | Desktop