Micflikier, Winnik named MVP at Wildcat hockey banquet

~Ciocco named captain for 2006-2007 season~

Jacob Micflikier

It was the fourth time in Wildcat hockey history that co-MVP's were given at the team awards banquet.

Micflikier finished the season with a team and career-high 42 points, while Winnik was named a Second Team Hockey East All-Star and registered a career-high 41 points.

Junior forward Josh Ciocco (Atco, N.J.) was named the 101st captain in the history of UNH hockey for the 2006-2007 season, while junior blueliner Chris Murray (Dover, Mass.) and Micflikier were named assistant captains of next season's team.

Ciocco played in 39 games for the 'Cats last year recording 18 points (7g, 11a), which ranked sixth on UNH's roster, while Murray skated in 37 games as a junior posting eight points.

Micflikier was also the recipient of the Guy Smith Award as the team's best offensive player, as well as the Ted Karmeris Fan Favorite Award.

Senior captain Brian Yandle (Milton, Mass.) earned the Rod Langway Best Defenseman Award. He was named a RBK Second Team All-American for the second straight season and he is the first blueliner in the history of UNH hockey to accomplish that feat. Yandle was also an All-New England and Second-Team Hockey East All-Star. He registered 30 points in his final season as a Wildcat, ranking fourth on the Wildcats' roster in scoring.

Sophomore defenseman Brad Flaishans (Glendale, Ariz.) was named the Sid Knight recipient for his outstanding academic achievement in the classroom, while freshman blueliner Jamie Fritsch (Odenton, Md.) earned the Most Improved Player Award in his first season in Durham.

Senior forward Andrew Leach (Albany, N.Y.) was named the Ironman Award winner for the second consecutive season as the Wildcat player who excels in the weight room through a 15-event competition during fall dry-land training. Leach was also named the Warren Brown Award winner, given annually to the best defensive forward on UNH's roster.

Senior forward Mark Kolanos (Calgary, Alberta) won the Charles E. Holt Coaches Award, as voted by the coaching staff and goes to the player who makes large contributions both on and off the ice, while senior goaltender Jeff Pietrasiak (Shrewsbury, Mass.) earned the Robert Kullen Award as the unsung hero of Wildcats in 05-06.

Pietrasiak leaves UNH with the all-time career save percentage record at .917 and second on the all-time career GAA list at 2.46. He also holds the single-season save percentage record at .929 and his 2.21 GAA this season ranks fourth on UNH's leaderboard.

Senior forward Chris Collins of Boston College, brother of freshman Wildcat Greg Collins, was named the recipient of the Terry Morton Most Worthy Opponent Award.

View: Mobile | Desktop