Jeannotte Feted as New Hampshire Sportscaster of the Year

SALISBURY, N.C.Jim Jeannotte, the longtime radio voice of University of New Hampshire football and basketball, has been named the 2010 New Hampshire Sportscaster of the Year, it was announced Monday by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). Jeannotte, a 22-time winner, will be honored during the 52nd annual NSSA Awards Program in Salisbury, N.C., May 14-16.  

Jeannotte, who won his first Sportscaster of the Year award in 1969, began his UNH football broadcasting career alongside Jock McKenzie in 1974, working as color commentator for five years. After spending two seasons broadcasting at Dartmouth College, he returned to Durham as the "Voice of the Wildcats" in 1981, a position he has held ever since. Along the way, the Concord, N.H. was inducted into the NHIAA Hall of Fame in 2002 and serves on the board of directors of the Joe Yukica New Hampshire chapter of the National Football Foundation, including more than a decade as the chairman of its scholar-athlete committee.  Last month, Jeannotte was presented the 59th George C. Carens Award, presented annually by the New England Football Writers for contributions to New England college football.

Kevin Gray of the New Hampshire Union Leader was named the New Hampshire Sportswriter of the Year for the fourth time. The National Sportscaster of the Year is Mike Tirico of ABC and ESPN, and Peter King of Sports Illustrated was named the National Sportswriter of the Year.

Longtime play-by-play announcers Brent Musburger and Bob Uecker and Bob Ryan, a 42-year veteran of the Boston Globe, have been voted into the NSSA Hall of Fame. For more information on the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association & Hall of Fame, visit

View: Mobile | Desktop