DURHAM, N.H. – Senior wide receiver David Ball (Orange, Vt.) of the University of New Hampshire football team and senior forward Danielle Clark (Corinna, Maine) of the Wildcat women’s basketball team were named the 2007 Jim Urquhart Student-Athletes of the Year on Tuesday night at the fourth annual senior awards banquet at the New England Center.
    The award is named in memory of longtime UNH coach Jim Urquhart, who coached the New Hampshire men's lacrosse team for 17 years and the wrestling team for 11 seasons before taking the position as Associate Athletic Director of Event Management in 1997. He passed away after suffering a heart attack on Jan 14, 1998.

    Ball is one of the most decorated players in I-AA football history breaking several NCAA receiving marks, including the I-AA record for touchdown receptions in a career. He surpassed the mark of NFL legend Jerry Rice, who caught 50 touchdown passes while playing at Mississippi Valley State. Ball completes his career with 58 touchdown catches. Ball also finished second among the NCAA leaders with 4,655 receiving yards and he tied Rice’s mark for 100-yard receiving games with 23. He also was second all-time among the top I-AA players with 28 games with at least one touchdown catch.
Most recently, Ball signed a free agent contract with the Chicago Bears of the National Football League on May 1st and is currently participating in the team’s rookie camp this week.

    In 2006, Ball led the Atlantic 10 Football Conference with 13 touchdown receptions and was ranked among the top 10 in the nation in nearly every receiving category. His 93 receptions in 2006 broke his own University mark of 87, which he set last season. In addition, he completed his third straight campaign with over 1,000 receiving yards after compiling 1,114 yards in 2006 and averaging 85.7 receiving yards per contest. Ball was named a Walter Camp All-American for the third straight season, an AFCA All-American and an Associated Press First-Team All-American. He finished fifth in the voting for the Walter Payton Award and he was named First-Team All-Atlantic 10. At the annual team awards banquet, Ball was also named the Most Valuable Player and had his No. 3 retired. Ball is majoring in Kinesiology: Pedagogy and was involved in numerous community outreach programs.

    Clark capped off a great career with the Wildcat women’s basketball team serving as the team’s co-captain and leading the team in scoring at 14.3 points per game. She also led the team in rebounding (5.8 rpg) and free throw percentage (.824). The Wildcat team MVP had four double-doubles on the season, leading the Wildcats in scoring in 18-of-29 games. At the conclusion of the regular season, Clark was selected to the America East All-Conference Second Team as well as to the America East All-Academic Team. Out of all the players in the league, she received the most America East Player of the Game awards during the season. Clark finished her career as a Wildcat fourth on UNH's all-time 3-pointers made list with 123 and sixth on UNH's all-time career scoring list with 1,336 points. She finished sixth on the all-time scoring list with 1,336 points and was the 13th Wildcat in school history to score 1,000 career points. Clark was also a ESPN Academic All-District Selection in 2006 and was nominated for the America East Basketball Student-Athlete of the Year, along with the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

    Clark served for three years on the Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and has been on the Dean’s List in every semester in Durham as a English/Journalism major.

    The Jim Urquhart Student-Athlete of the Year Award began in 1999. The award is bestowed annually upon UNH senior student-athletes who excel both in athletic competition and the classroom, as well as possessing great character, sportsmanship and a passion for sports.

    Senior wide receiver Aaron Brown (Central Square, N.Y.) of the football team and Erin Moore (Nashua, N.H.) of the women’s track and field team were named the first annual recipients of the Tina True Memorial Award, given to two Wildcat athletes for their commitment to strength and conditioning. True was a co-captain and coxswain of the women’s crew team from 2000 to 2002. Her commitment to training and her passion for her sport greatly contributed to the success of the team. In January of her junior year, Tina’s life was tragically cut short in a car accident.

Other male nominees for the Urquhart Award were: Matthew Shump (men’s soccer)

Other female nominees Urquhart Award  were: Melissa Bourdon (women’s hockey), Erin Moore (women’s track and field), Melinda Regii (women’s alpine skiing) and Sarah Rehn (volleyball).

Here is a list of the Jim Urquhart Student-Athlete of the Year recipients:

1999- Jerry Azumah (football), Jason Krog (men's ice hockey), Melanie Morin (women's cross country, track)
2000- Orsi Farkas (women's basketball), Kyle Schneck (men's cross country, track), Mike Souza (men's hockey)
2001- Colleen Christopher (women's lacrosse), Ty Conklin (men's hockey), Ryan DiNunzio (men's soccer), Andrea Encarnacao (women's soccer)
2002- Amy DeCamp (women's cross country, track), Darren Haydar (men's hockey)
2003- Greg Blaisdell (men's skiing), Marcie Boyer (field hockey)
2004- Lesley Read (women's track/cross country), Steve Saviano (men's hockey)
2005- Chiara Best (women's soccer), Ben Sturgill (men's basketball)
2006- Amanda Hall (gymnastics) and Derek Stank (football)
2007- David Ball (football) and Danielle Clark (women’s basketball)
View: Mobile | Desktop