Sports Network Football Awards List Finalized
David Ball

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. (Sports Network)- The race for the top player, defensive player, and coach in I-AA college football took a final step on Monday as ballots for the 2005 Walter Payton Award, Buck Buchanan Award, and Eddie Robinson Award were mailed to all voters. For UNH, sophomore quarterback Ricky Santos and junior wide receiver David Ball are up for the Walter Payton award and UNH head coach Sean McDonnell is included among the top coaches up for the Eddie Robinson Award.

The ballots, which were sent to media and I-AA sports information directors selected for the voting process, will be due via fax by Wednesday, November 23rd. The top three finalists (in terms of votes received) for the Walter Payton Award will be invited to attend the presentation of the Awards, with the winner of that Award not announced until the event. The 19th Annual I-AA College Football Awards will be held Dec. 15th in Chattanooga, TN, on the eve of the NCAA I-AA national championship.

One revision has been made to the most recent "Payton Watch" and "Buchanan Battle" lists. Illinois State wide receiver Laurent Robinson is on the Payton list, with Duquesne defensive end Antoine Bullock making the Buchanan list.

Following are the 32 players and 16 coaches appearing on the 2005 Walter Payton, Buck Buchanan, and Eddie Robinson Award ballots. Additional information on each player, as well as history and facts about each of the I-AA awards, is available at

2005 Walter Payton Award Finalists
Jermaine Austin, FB, Georgia Southern
David Ball, WR, New Hampshire
Omar Cuff, RB, Delaware
Bruce Eugene, QB, Grambling State
Nick Hartigan, RB, Brown
Lex Hilliard, RB, Montana
Travis Lulay, QB, Montana State
Ingle Martin, QB, Furman
Erik Meyer, QB, Eastern Washington
Barrick Nealy, QB, Texas State
*Laurent Robinson, WR, Illinois State
Joe Rubin, RB, Portland State
Joel Sambursky, QB, Southern Illinois
Ricky Santos, QB, New Hampshire
Steve Silva, RB, Holy Cross
Richie Williams, QB, Appalachian State

2005 Buck Buchanan Award Finalists
Maurice Bennett, LB, Lafayette
*Antoine Bullock, DE, Duquesne
Jeff Charleston, DE, Idaho State
Zak DeOssie, LB, Brown
Reed Doughty, S, Northern Colorado
Justin Durant, LB, Hampton
Brady Fosmark, DE, Weber State
William Freeman, LB, Furman
Chris Gocong, DE, Cal Poly
Brent Hawkins, DE, Illinois State
Brian Hulea, LB, Villanova
Shannon James, S, Massachusetts
Jay McCareins, DB, Princeton
Marques Murrell, DE, Appalachian State
Chad Nkang, LB, Elon
Cameron Siskowic, LB, Illinois State

2005 Eddie Robinson Award Finalists
David Bailiff, Texas State
Dick Biddle, Colgate
Dave Clawson, Richmond
Rich Ellerson, Cal Poly
Phil Estes, Brown
Mark Farley, Northern Iowa
Matt Griffin, Tennessee-Martin
Jim Harbaugh, San Diego
Jon Heacock, Youngstown State
Ron McBride, Weber State
Sean McDonnell, New Hampshire
Jerry Moore, Appalachian State
Melvin Spears, Grambling State
Bob Spoo, Eastern Illinois
Joe Taylor, Hampton
Jay Thomas, Nicholls State

View: Mobile | Desktop