Lipman and Lessels Garner National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Awards for New Hampshire

SALISBURY, N.C. – Bob Lipman, the voice of University of New Hampshire football and Allen Lessels of the New Hampshire Union Leader, have been named the New Hampshire Sportscaster and Sportwriter of the Year, respectively. Wednesday, the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA) announced the award winners.

Lipman and Lessels will be honored during the 55th Annual NSSA Awards Weekend in Salisbury, N.C., from June 7-9.

A four-time honoree of the award (1999, 2006, 2012, 2013), Lipman entered his third year on the Wildcat Sports Radio Network and second year as play-by-play announcer. After working alongside UNH Hall of Famer Jim Jeannotte as color commentator in 2011, Lipman assumed the role of Voice of the Wildcats in 2012. The East Brunswick, N.J., native and Concord, N.H., resident has been broadcasting New Hampshire sports since 1984, including the past 10 years with the Eastern League's New Hampshire Fisher Cats, Double-A affiliate of the Toronto Blue Jays, and 10 seasons (2001-10) as part of the Dartmouth College football broadcast team. The Vanderbilt University graduate is the operations manager at WTPL Radio in Concord.

Lessels was honored as the New Hampshire Sportswriter of the Year for the 11th time, a state record. A UNH graduate, Lessels has covered New Hampshire sports, including UNH athletics, for more than 25 years.

NBC’s Mike ‘Doc’ Emrick has been elected 2013 National Sportscaster of the Year and Sports Illustrated NFL writer Peter King has won his third National Sportswriter of the Year award in the last four years.

For more information on the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association & Hall of Fame, visit

View: Mobile | Desktop